Silence

Read the silence like a sheet of Braille

Thick and dense enough to touch

Fumble fondle over ridge and plane

Miles of endless static hush


Thick and dense enough to touch

Your hands a phantom cavalcade

Miles of endless static hush

Dim and darken; mute and fade


Your hands a phantom cavalcade

Flower and sink like earthy roots

Dim and darken; mute and fade

Remote and indehiscent fruits


This is my first effort at a pantoum. Thanks you Susan L Daniels for her encouragement and this poem which provided the inspiration and is much, much better than mine!

19 Comments

Filed under Creative

19 responses to “Silence

  1. Oh–this is GREAT! Now, a true pantoum has a set structure for the last stanza but DON’T you DATE change this–I love it!

  2. So, the structure for your last stanza would be #2 and #4 lines from your last stanza as #1 and #3, and #2 line would be line #3 from your first stanza, with the first line of the first stanza as the last in the poem, like so:

    Your hands a phantom cavalcade

    Fumble fondle over ridge and plane

    Dim and darken; mute and fade

    Read the silence like a sheet of Braille

    But, again, do NOT change what you have, it’s freaking brilliant!

  3. This is a very skilled work – form poetry is an art and easy to fluff up – but this is very heavy with meaning and very light with touch – which I think is the perfect combination.
    Anyway – must remorselessly take the piss out of Sue now for calling you Rambly!!

  4. *looks* I think that was a compliment?
    I wish I knew the combinations, the artistic way of writing poetry.
    I just type – what’s in my head without thought for combinations… sad but true 😦
    I did enjoy it though .. and yes I had to look up pantoum 😦

    • I do that too Ramblings: this was just an experiment…It took me days of blood sweat and tears (and Susan makes it look so easy! πŸ˜‰ It’s not sad…you have a love of self expression and your writing is real and meaningful…x

  5. Pingback: Wonderful Team Member Readership Award | rarasaur

  6. Sweet. I learned a new word. indehiscent. I am clearly in love with your words in general. You had me at: “Read the silence like a sheet of Braille.” I mean that’s just dope.

  7. Really really love this. And yes–don’t change a thing! Just do like they do in jazz, Do it again, say you meant to and create your own form. Each form has something unique to say. maybe a true pantoum would not be true to what you had to say…

Leave a Reply

