Lillith

You get powdered milk

then coca cola through a rubber teat

soon it’s

cigarettes and stolen beers

other girls hate you

climbing into cars with their

boys who

won’t buy you teddy bears,

cards with love hearts on the front

and baby talk inside

you do

things that good girls

dare not do

learn to wield your hips

like a Colt 45

and re-apply your lipstick

In the dark

You have never

Bought yourself a drink

Or taken your heels off

in public

No one will ever see you

In the early morning light

As you remove your shoes

and hold your tender feet

like a newborn babe

25 Comments

Filed under Creative

25 responses to “Lillith

  1. Wow, wow, wow. I love this one. You have made my s/g human and vulnerable. Beautifully drawn.

  2. Reblogged this on Susan Daniels Poetry and commented:
    Here she is again from faceatthewindow… Boy this s/g gets around… Just what you’d expect, no?

  3. learn to wield your hips
    like a Colt 45

    I am utterly in awe of where you can pull these lines from
    This was beautiful Ace
    šŸ™‚

  4. Using phrases to paint pictures. Intense. Very good.

  5. this jolted me awake. I am listening. & a new fan. wow.

  6. Wonderful beginning and even better ending. šŸ™‚ Very well done. You hit your mark! Eric

  7. Something noirish about this, I kept feeling like I was in the forties or something – it’s another great piece, and feels very different, proving further versatility.
    You must take up the Iron Poet invite!

  8. Hey FatWah – been thinking about this poem lately. I really like it, but wondered – could you drop the 45? Leaving it as just Colt suggests wild horses, and keeps the noir suggestion more tacit?
    See what you think šŸ™‚

    • Hi panda, it’s taken me a while to reply to this as I’ve had flu šŸ˜¦ Yes, I like your idea. I actually felt that the Colt 45 simile was weak and wrong for the piece: to cliche and resonant of cowboys, not noir! Thanks…colt is better. Sniffles FatW

  9. Goodness me, this is beautiful. this is strong, this is poetry! and my question is this – how did she get to be this way? How and why did she learn to wield her hips with such effect and paint her lips the dark sheen of gore?

Leave a Reply

