My Missing Rib

It’s less risky to hate

Than to love

Easier to run

Than to push

A burning sword

Into the heart of me

Where I already burn for you

 

We walked through hot coals

To get here

And I am scarred

 

It’s easier to cut ties

Than to swallow them deep

Choke them down

Past a throat suffocated

With unsaid

Where I am silent for you

 

We sucked in lungful’s of icy air

To get here

And I am shivering cold

 

Remember when

I first held you inside me?

Tightly as a precious stone

Bound by little threads of feeling

Strong as spider webbing

I held the weight of you

Like water in a well

6 Comments

Filed under General

6 responses to “My Missing Rib

  1. Very powerful. Beautifully written.
    Alison

Leave a Reply

